Jump to main content

Classrooms Without Borders

Past Events

Humans of Tel Aviv

Wednesday, March 1, 2017

March 1 - 6: Temple Shalom, 23 Bethany Pike,Wheeling, WV 26003
March 7 - 31: Wheeling Jesuit University, Bishop Hodges Library

Free and open to the public.

Exhibit Travel Schedule

  • Rodef Shalom Congregation | Sunday, September 11 - Sunday, September 18 2016
  • Seton Hill University | Sunday, November 6 - Friday, November 11 2016
  • Upper St. Clair High School | Monday, November 28 - Friday, December 9 2016
  • Jewish Community Center/J-Line | Friday, January 20 - Thursday, January 26, 2017
  • The Artsmiths of Pittsburgh | Saturday, January 28 - Friday, February 24, 2017 
  • Classrooms Without Borders/ Wheeling, West Virginia March 1- 31, 2017
  • The Jewish Federation of Greater Pittsburgh | Thursday, April 27, 2017

Inspired by the widely popular blog Humans of New York, Israeli photojournalist Erez Kaganovitz founded Humans of Tel Aviv in 2012, currently boasting 45,000 followers from around the world via Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. The project aims to show the authentic cultural and human diversity of Tel Aviv and the country of Israel, and that Israeli everyday reality not only consists of soldiers, guns and clashes, but also of poets, liberals, conservatives, immigrants, piano players, nerds, feminists or people on a diet.

In 2016, Classrooms Without Borders created an exhibit using pictures and text from the project in order to bring the message of Humans of Tel Aviv to the U.S. The exhibit strives to give a small glimpse into the vast and complicated multitude of political, religious, cultural and lifestyle perspectives in Tel Aviv in hope to have us see, without preconceptions, the humans behind it all.

Accommodations available to include differing abilities. Please email robin.monroe.cwb@gmail.com or call (412) 335-8301.

The full inclusion of people of all abilities is a core value of Classrooms Without Borders. For questions or to make requests for special accommodations contact robin@classroomswithoutborders.org